Maryland Gun Lawyer
Firearm possession is an important right protected by the Second Amendment of the United States Constitution. Nevertheless, Maryland has some of the toughest restrictions and punishments for firearm offenses in the country. Here is some basic information you should know as you begin your defense.
The vast majority of gun-related charges in Maryland tend to be unlawful purchase of a firearm, or possession or an unregistered firearm. Under state law, it is illegal to carry, wear or transport a handgun without the proper permits, regardless of whether you are carrying it openly or concealed. While occupational exceptions do apply, these are limited to law enforcement personnel.
Penalties for misdemeanor offenses range from three months in a county jail to three years in a state facility, and carry fines from $250 to $2,500. Repeat offenders could face up to ten years in a state correctional facility. If you are charged with possession of such a weapon on public school grounds, the mandatory minimum sentence is 90 days for a first offense, and up to ten years for a second offense. Further, conviction of use of a handgun during the commission of a separate crime carries a mandatory minimum sentence of five years in a state prison, and a maximum of twenty years. Persons convicted of such offenses must serve the minimum five years before they are even eligible for parole.
Given the harshness of the consequences of gun offenses in Maryland, if you are facing such a charge you can help protect yourself by contacting an experienced Maryland gun lawyer to lessen the punishment or to beat the charges.
If you face one or more of these charges it is crucial that you contact a criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible in order to protect your rights.
For more detail regarding Maryland firearm laws you can read the Maryland Official Code.